By Greg Moore

WHAT’S AT STAKE this Nov. 8?

Beginning Oct. 12, voters may cast ballots during the early vote period that will end on Election Day, Nov. 8. Voters in Cuyahoga County will be casting votes for the 18th, 21st, 23rd, and 24th state senate districts.

What the Commission Does

Every 10 years after the U.S. Census, Ohio’s 99 House districts and 33 Senate districts must be redrawn to reflect the results of the most recent Census. The Ohio Redistricting Commission is tasked with redrawing each of those legislative districts. This decade marks the first time the newly configured Ohio Redistricting Commission will redraw Ohio’s House and Senate districts under new criteria overwhelmingly approved by Ohioans in 2015. This website seeks to inform the public about the Commission’s work.

 Why were there two primary elections this year?

In 2015 and 2018, redistricting reform advocates were successful in passing two constitutional amendments that reformed the way legislative and congressional districts are drawn. Despite the strong overwhelming support (71%) from both Republicans and Democratic voters in all 88 counties, the Republican-led legislature and Ohio Redistricting Commission have refused to adhere in a timely manner to the Ohio Constitution. Every 10 years after the U.S. Census, Ohio’s 99 House districts and 33 Senate districts must be redrawn to reflect the results of the most recent Census. Political wrangling that went on for over a year between Republicans and Democrats on the Ohio Redistricting Commission caused a delay in the primary election process.

This led to an unprecedented two primaries: one for the Statewide and Congressional races held on May 3, and a second primary held on Aug. 2 for state legislative seats. The voter turnout for Cuyahoga county was a dismal 9.4% turnout in the Aug. 2 primary election.

Although these district lines have been ruled unconstitutional by the Ohio Supreme Court, a federal court intervened and allowed these new district lines to be placed on the Aug. 2 primary and Nov. 8 general elections ballot only.

How long will these district lines be in place?

The new district lines will only be in effect during the 2022 elections. State senators elected in November will serve one term under these lines and will most likely be ordered by the courts or future legislative map drawers into new Senate districts that will be voted on during the 2024 presidential primary election.

The same holds true for candidates for the Ohio State House of Representatives.  Cuyahoga and Lake County Voters will be voting in the 18th, 19th, 20th, 21st, 22nd 23rd, and 24th State House districts. Likewise, House of Representatives Members elected this November may only serve one term under these lines which could be reconfigured again if redistricting reform and voting rights advocates prevail in litigation still pending in the federal courts.

What are two possible solutions for gerrymandering? 

1) Set up a group free from political control (an independent commission) to draw boundaries.

2) Have a bipartisan commission redistricting, where both parties draw boundaries together to have equal representation and compromise (strike a sort of bargain)

The Ohio Redistricting Commission is comprised of seven members:

  • One individual appointed by the Senate President
  • One individual appointed by the Speaker of the House
  • One individual appointed by the Senate Minority Leader
  • One individual appointed by the House Minority Leader
  • The Governor
  • The Auditor
  • The Secretary of State


Republican                                         Democrat                                        Republican                                      Democrat


Republican                                        Republican                                       Republican

These are the commission members who can’t get the job done requested by the voters!

To find out which district you will be voting in go to  Be sure to VOTE EARLY in person at the Cuyahoga County Board of Elections located downtown at 2925 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, Ohio 44115. For more information, call 216-443-VOTE.

For problems on Election Day, please call the Election Protection Hotline number: 866-OUR-VOTE, or 866-(687-8683) or visit the Ohio Voting Rights Coalition at